The APWA San Diego and Imperial Counties Chapter sponsors an annual awards program to honor the projects and individuals that contribute to the success of public works throughout the two county region.

The Public Works Project of the Year Award was established to promote excellence in Public Works Projects by recognizing the partnership between the managing agency, the consultant/architect/engineer team, and the contractor, who all work together to successfully complete Public Works Projects. Project categories include:

  • Structures
  • Transportation
  • Environment
  • Utilities
  • Parks
  • Sustainable/Green
  • Disaster or Emergency Construction/Repair
  • Historic Preservation

The Individual Awards recognize the outstanding service contributions of individuals in the following categories:

  • Outstanding Service in a Public Agency
  • Outstanding Service in the Private Sector
  • Contractor of the Year
  • Young Leader Award
  • Award/Certificate of Merit
  • Public Works Advocate
  • Outstanding Operations & Maintenance Personnel
  • Student Award

The 2024 Chapter Awards Program nomination period is open through March 1, 2024. Additional information is located on the 2024 Awards Program page.

For additional information, please contact Awards Committee Co-Chairs Greg Kump and Anthony Naderhoff at

Back to top